The Quest To Have Burned Ten

This week marked my lowest running mileage in some time due, largely, to my left aches just below/to the right side of my left knee: 2 miles. The week overall, however, wasn’t as lazy as it sounds.

Sunday and Monday were rest days on account of being in New York with my mom and step-dad, leaving after supper, and driving back to North Carolina over night. We arrived home at 7:30 AM and, after driving all night, a good chunk of the day was devoted to sleeping. Tuesday I had a good core and strength training workout. This typically incorporates bird dogs, planks, crunches, bridges, clams, and stretching, followed by a three set circuit of high-rep/low weight dumb bell lifting using my bench upstairs: bench pressing, fly, shoulder pressing, tricep extensions, and curls. Three sets. No breaks between exercises or sets. I usually can’t complete all of the exercises in the third set.

Wednesday I went for my one run of the week which was a hilly two-mile trail run behind the local Y. It wasn’t my plan to run. I intended to ride a stationary bike that day on account of the knee, but, a few circumstances (not worth getting into here) led me back outdoors. It felt good at the time, but, again, my left knee has been feeling otherwise ever since.

Thursday  I did my first swim since May and it felt awesome. This is probably because of the lifting and core work I’ve been doing all summer, but, the fatigue that usually sets in by the last ten laps in my 36 lap/1800 yard routine just wasn’t there.

Yesterday I closed out the week’s work with another strong core/strength training workout.

Today was a “rest” day, though, “rest” entailed moving two truckloads of items (including an industrial mower, a free-standing floor freezer, and a 6 foot wide steel 1952 John Deere plow blade) from my late father’s property to my own. I should invite a couple of my power lifting buddies from the Binghamton, NY area to come down and lift that plow up and down a few times for a good work out. I know I couldn’t have done it with out the gracious help of a friend. Thanks again, John.

Leave a comment